Dear SASGOG members,

It is with great pleasure that I share the following announcement.  This week, March 18, 2020 I was asked as the president if SASGOG would sign on alongside our sister societies within obstetrics and gynecology to endorse a joint statement on Abortion Access During the COVID-19 Outbreak. The statement focuses on the temporal nature of this surgical procedure and the need for timely care to lessen risks to women.  Given that we are aligned in our goal to promote the health and welfare of women as well as supporting each other in our individual academic pursuits, alignment with our sister organizations around this specific issue as well as other COVID concerns with women is critical.  Please see other associated resources.

Amy Young, MD
President, SASGOG

Important notices regarding COVID-19

SASGOG Annual Meeting has been Postponed.
Registration Refunds will be Processed Automatically.
NOTE: It May Take up to Three Weeks to Process


The Society for Academic Specialists in General Obstetrics and Gynecology seeks to enhance women’s health by supporting academic generalist physicians in all phases of their careers. Our goal is to support education and scholarship, while fostering excellence in research.

Surgical Gynecology: A Case-Based Approach

Todd Jenkins, Kimberly Gecsi, Abimbola Famuyide, Lisa Keder, David Chelmow
Cambridge University Press

SASGOG is writing it’s third book and we are recruiting authors who are members of SASGOG to write chapters (cases) for the book. The book will contain approximately 90 cases, each 3-5 pages in length (approximately 2000 words). Material in the book will cover the decision to operate, alternatives to surgery, preoperative counseling, surgical technique, postoperative counseling and complications across the full spectrum of gynecologic procedures. The book is a SASGOG project, will carry the SASGOG brand, and proceeds from the book will benefit SASGOG. Cases will be in a similar format as the previous books Acute and Emergency Care Gynecology: A Case-Based Approach and Office Gynecology: A Case-Based Approach.

Application Process:

  • Authors must be SASGOG members who have completed residency training.
  • The chapters are short and are designed to have a single author. 
  • Cases will be assigned on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • Click HERE for a list of cases and to apply for authorship.
  • Applicants will be prompted to login using their SASGOG website credentials and will have the opportunity to rank up 5 cases based on their preferences. 
  • Every effort will be made to assign the applicant’s highest choice possible and optimally, applicants will only be assigned a single case.


We anticipate mailing out final case instructions and sample cases to authors in April. Cases will be due June 30, 2020. We expect the book to be published in late 2020. Authors will receive a complimentary copy of the book.

Please join SASGOG!

Member Benefits

  • Access to career opportunities
  • Free webinars
  • Valuable resources for generalist OB/GYNs
  • Exclusive SASGOG events
  • Opportunities for career enhancement
  • Mentor/mentee and educational programs
  • Opportunities to publish
  • Exclusive private SASGOG Member Portal including member-only resources and communications

Membership Levels

We offer individual membership for all career levels.

Join Today